Meet the C21 Editorial Board

C21 is delighted to introduce the members of our Editorial Board. Drawn from the many different fields associated with oncology, each brings a wealth of experience to inform, advise and guide the ongoing development of the magazine. Their expertise ensures that we are able to bring you the most up-to-date and complete picture of this rapidly evolving field of medicine.
Dr Penelope Brock
Dr Penelope Brock specialised in childhood cancer at Great Ormond Street Hospital and became consultant there in 1999. Her PhD was on the toxicity of cisplatin chemotherapy and her Brock grading system for cisplatin induced hearing loss in children is used worldwide. She is UK Chief Investigator for a number of International Clinical Trials, International Chairman of the current childhood liver tumour trial and Secretary of the European Neuroblastoma Executive committee
Professor Angus Dalgleish
Professor Angus Dalgleish is Consultant Medical Oncologist at St Georges University of London/St Georges Hospital NHS Trust. Following an interest in how viruses caused cancer, he commenced an MD with Professor Robin Weiss, FRS at the Institute of Cancer Research and Royal Marsden Hospital, where he identified the role of CD4 as the receptor for the HIV virus. In 1991 he was appointed to the Foundation Chair in Oncology at St. Georges University of London.
Dr Rosy Daniel
Dr Rosy Daniel is an Integrated Medicine Consultant at the Apthorp Centre in Bath. She was former Doctor and then Medical Director of Bristol Cancer Help Centre and served as Chief Executive Officer between 1985 and 1999. She is currently Medical Director of her own organisation, Health Creation, set up to develop and provide holistic health care products and health coaching services. Through her Programme, people become more involved in the creation of their optimum health.
Dr Deborah Fenlon (RGN, PhD)
Dr Deborah Fenlon (RGN, PhD) is a Senior Research Fellow in the Macmillan Research Unit at the School of Health of Sciences, University of Southampton, working on a programme of cancer survivorship. Her areas of research interest include self management and women living with the long term sequelae of treatment for breast cancer. Debbie gained 12 years clinical experience working as a clinical nurse specialist in breast cancer at the Royal Marsden Hospital and then worked as a lecturer in cancer care for three years, before undertaking her PhD.
Dr Michael Gocman
Dr Michael Gocman is a GP Principal at Abernethy House Practice Enfield and has been in practice since 1985. He was a founder member of Enfield North Primary Care Group Board and has been Enfield PCT Primary Care Cancer Lead since 2002. He is a founder member of the NLCN Endoscopy Support Forum and Primary Care & Prevention Board, a unique example of Primary care & Public health professionals working together for the Cancer Network. Currently he is developing the UKs first Primary Care Cancer Society
Professor Ian Jacobs
Professor Ian Jacobs is Director of the UCLH/UCL Comprehensive Biomedical Research Centre, Vice Dean of Biomedicine at UCL and has recently become Dean of Health Sciences Research. He was President of the British Gynaecological Cancer Society (2001-2004) and President of the European Society of Gynaecological Oncologists (2005-2007). Alongside his clinical role in gynaecological oncology Ian directs a laboratory and clinical research team at UCL.
Dr Alison Jones
Dr Alison Jones is a Consultant Medical Oncologist specialising in breast cancer and is ex-Clinical Director for Cancer Services at UCLH. She is Chair of both the Association of Cancer Physicians and the North London Cancer Network Breast Tumour Board. She graduated from Bristol University in 1980 and completed postgraduate training in oncology at the Royal Marsden Hospital and Institute of Cancer Research, London. She was appointed as a Consultant in Medical Oncology at the Royal Free Hospital in 1993 and took up a joint appointment between UCLH and the Royal Free in 2001.
Professor Karol Sikora
Professor Karol Sikora is Medical Director of CancerPartnersUK which is creating the largest independent UK cancer network. He was Professor and Chairman of the Department of Cancer Medicine at Imperial College School of Medicine and is still honorary Consultant Oncologist at Hammersmith Hospital, London. He is Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of Source BioScience PLC, Britains leading cancer diagnostic company. He is Dean and Professor of Medicine at Britains first independent Medical School at the University of Buckingham and Fellow of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.
Hamish Laing
Hamish Laing is a Consultant Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeon at the Welsh Centre for Burns and Plastic Surgery. He is Communications Officer of the British Association of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons. Qualifying from Kings College Hospital in 1984, he gained experience in a variety of hospitals including the Royal Marsden and Great Ormond Street. He is an Associate Medical Director in ABM University NHS Trust. His interests include the treatment of sarcoma and malignant melanoma.
Professor Nick Plowman
Professor Nick Plowman is Consultant in Radiotherapy and Senior Clinical Oncologist to St Bartholomews Hospital and The Hospital for Sick Children Great Ormond Street, with visiting duties to St Marks Hospital and Moorfields Eye Hospital. He has a long term interest in advances in the radiotherapeutic methods to treat prostate cancer both external beam conformal and seed brachytherapy and hormonal methods of therapy. He has been Head of Department from 1989-1997 and from 2000 to the present time. He has published around 300 research papers in radiotherapy.
The Honorable Professor Arthur T Porter
The Honorable Professor Arthur T Porter is Director General and CEO of McGill University Health Centre, Montral, which employs over 1,300 clinicians and 14,000 health care professionals. He serves on the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Cancer Institute (USA). Amongst the awards with which he has been honoured are the Award for Excellence from the Detroit Medical Society, the Healthcare Executive of the Year award and the Harry Schubin MD Statesman in Healthcare Administration award from the American Academy of Medical Administrators.
Professor Malcolm Reed
Professor Malcolm Reed was appointed to the Foundation Chair of Surgical Oncology, University of Sheffield in August 1999. He is currently the President of the British Association of Surgical Oncology. In 1991 Professor Reed obtained grant funding to establish the Microcirculation Research Group which focuses on the role of microcirculation in the development of tumour angiogenesis and in the treatment of cancer. The Unit has developed a major clinical research programme in breast cancer.
Cheryl Vidall
Ms Cheryl Vidall qualified as RGN in 1987 and has worked in a wide variety of roles including senior staff nurse on a colorectal cancer research unit. Her current post is Clinical Risk and Practice Development Manager for Healthcare at Home. She established nurse-led clinics in oncology as well as patient user groups, for which she won an award in 2002. She is President Elect of UKONS (United Kingdom Oncology Nursing Society) and has jointly been delivering the national Extravasation 'train the trainer'programme. She is an active member of UKONS Chemotherapy Nurses Forum.
Professor Jonathan Waxman
Professor Jonathan Waxman is a Professor of Oncology at the Hammersmith Hospital, London. He has helped develop new treatments for cancer, which are now part of standard practice. He is the author of around 300 research papers and chapters, and of 11 books on cancer. He founded The Prostate Cancer Charity, the first United Kingdom national organisation promoting research and patient support for this condition.